Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 5th, 2008

There are worship services…and there’s the worship service that opens Annual Conference every year.

Yes, Lord, we had church this morning. Services like this inspire me. There’s just nothing quite like it. Can we talk about the music? Leaning on the Everlasting Arms simply rocked. I’m working on posting audio from this morning, btw.

As I walked (quickly) to absorb my first Annual Conference as Co-Communications Director, I thought:

How do we get this passion for and love of God out there? I guess that’s why the Quadrennial Emphasis is on Evangelism.

Read Full Post »

“I’ll meet you by the statue of John Wesley,” my husband (to be) said. It was June of 1999, and I was driving up to my first Annual Conference.

Funny, how things turn out…

For 40 years, we have been meeting at this statue – and in the church behind it. As we meet this week at Annual Conference, it’s good to remember that, I think.

First history tidbit: This brochure of Julian Harris. He sculpted that statue we all know and love. Thanks to Angela Gay Kinkead for the pamphlet.

Read Full Post »